Will you support independent, non-partisan journalism?

Become a champion of local news and unlock additional benefits as a LebTown member, like exclusive members-only emails, access to comments, invitations to members-only events, and more.

Make an impact. Cancel anytime.

Already a member? Login here

Two more Lebanon County municipalities have received money from the state Treasury Department as part of the American Rescue Plan Act’s Coronavirus Local Fiscal Recovery program.

On Tuesday, $471,325.46 was paid to Jackson Township and $264,603.77 to Annville Township, according to a release.

This is their first batch of funds; the other half will be disbursed in about a year.

The two townships were among 134 municipalities receiving $19.8 million total in coronavirus recovery payments this week. To date, 1,885 municipalities across Pennsylvania have gotten a combined $441 million, starting last month.

Funds can be used to address COVID-19’s negative economic impacts, replace lost public sector revenue, support public health, help essential workers, and invest in infrastructure improvements, including water, sewer or broadband services.

Tom Houtz, chairman of the Jackson Township supervisors, told LebTown that there has been no decision on how the money will be used.

But two possible priorities are stabilizing the MS4 stormwater system to prevent nitrate runoff and paying down the township’s sewer debt, he said.

More than 2,500 municipalities in the commonwealth qualify for these payments, the state Treasury Department said.

The American Rescue Plan Act gave states the responsibility to allocate these federal funds to municipalities with a population of less than 50,000. Eligible Pennsylvania municipalities must request funds through the Department of Community and Economic Development.

Seventeen Lebanon County municipalities previously received payment from the state: Cleona, Cornwall, Myerstown and Palmyra boroughs, and Bethel, East Hanover, Heidelberg, Millcreek, North Annville, North Cornwall, North Lebanon, North Londonderry, South Annville, South Lebanon, South Londonderry, Swatara and West Lebanon townships.

Read More: Federal relief payments made to 17 Lebanon County municipalities

Larger municipalities apply to receive payments directly from the federal government.

The state treasury will continue to pay municipalities on a rolling basis as they complete the necessary steps.

Do you want to see more from LebTown?

Free news isn’t cheap. If you value the journalism LebTown provides to the community, then help us make it sustainable by becoming a champion of local news.

You can unlock additional coverage for the community by supporting our work with a one-time contribution, or joining as a monthly or annual member. You can cancel anytime.

Questions about this story? Suggestions for a future LebTown article? Reach our newsroom using the contact form below and we’ll do our best to get back to you.

This article was updated on Monday, July 26, with additional comment from Jackson Township supervisors.

Paula Wolf worked for 31 years as a general assignment reporter, sports columnist, and editorial writer for LNP Media. A graduate of Franklin & Marshall College, she is a lifetime resident of Lancaster County.