Will you support independent, non-partisan journalism?

Become a champion of local news and unlock additional benefits as a LebTown member, like exclusive members-only emails, access to comments, invitations to members-only events, and more.

Make an impact. Cancel anytime.

Already a member? Login here

Local voters will have limited choices in the primary election on May 17, with more than one candidate vying for their party’s nomination in only a few areas.

These are the final ballots in Pennsylvania for the primary, according to records provided by the Pennsylvania Department of State.

State offices

In the 48th Senatorial District, incumbent Chris Gebhard of North Cornwall Township is running unopposed on the Republican slate. Calvin “Doc” Clements of South Londonderry Township is running unopposed for the Democrats. Both Lebanon County men will likely face each other in November.

The 98th Legislative District seat is currently held by Dave Hickernell, a Lancaster County Republican, who announced in December he would not seek reelection. South Londonderry Township Republican Faith Bucks will face three Lancaster County Republicans – Lu Ann Fahndrich, Logan Hoover and Tom Jones – in the May primary. Mark Temons, also of Lancaster County, is the lone Democratic contender for the seat.

In the 101st Legislative District, which will be vacated at the end of the year by Rep. Frank Ryan, Republican John A. Schlegel of Cornwall Borough and Democrat Catherine Victoria Miller, also from Cornwall, are running unopposed to secure their party nominations.

And in the 102nd Legislative District, incumbent Russ Diamond from Annville Township is campaigning to keep the Republican nomination. Susan Laura Quick of North Londonderry Township is running for the Democratic nod.

Multiple candidates are vying for the Republican nomination to replace Gov. Tom Wolf when his term expires.

Republican candidates for governor, and their counties of residence are: Louis Barletta (Luzerne), Jacob Doyle Corman III (Centre) Joseph Charles Gale (Montgomery) Charles R. Gerow (Cumberland) Melissa A. Hart (Allegheny) Douglas V. Mastriano (Franklin), William M. McSwain (Chester), Jason L. Richey (Allegheny), David J. White (Delaware), and Nche Zama (Northampton).

The lone Democrat running to be Pennsylvania’s next governor is Joshua D. Shapiro of Montgomery County.

Both parties have fielded several candidates to assume the post of Lt. Governor John Fetterman. Candidates for lieutenant governor, and their counties of residence, are:

Republicans: John A. Brown (Northampton), Jeffrey H. Coleman (Cumberland), Theodore Daniels (Wayne), Carrie Delrosso (Allegheny), Russell H. Diamond (Lebanon), Christopher C. Frye Jr. (Lawrence), James E. Jones (Montgomery), Richard Saccone (Allegheny), and Clarice D. Schillinger (Montgomery).

Democrats: Austin Davis (Allegheny), Brian Sims (Philadelphia), and Raymond L. Sosa (Montgomery).

Federal offices

Incumbent Dan Meuser, a Luzerne County Republican, is running unopposed in his party for reelection as representative for the 9th Congressional District. Amanda Waldman, from Lycoming County, is running unopposed for the Democratic nomination to face Meuser in November.

Only for the office of U.S. senator will Lebanon County voters have a lot of choices, none of whom are local. Both parties have fielded several candidates to take the seat that Senator Pat Toomey will vacate when he steps down at the end of his current term.

Candidates, and their counties of residence, are:

Republicans: Kathy J. Barnette (Montgomery), Jeffrey A. Bartos (Montgomery), George A. Bochetto (Philadelphia), Sean Peter Gale (Montgomery), David H. McCormick (Allegheny), Mehmet C. Oz (Montgomery), and Carla Herd Sands (Cumberland).

Democrats: Kevin Michael Baumlin (Philadelphia), John K. Fetterman (Allegheny), Malcolm Kenyatta (Philadelphia), Alexandria Gloria Khalil (Montgomery), and Conor J. Lamb (Allegheny).

Do you want to see more from LebTown?

Free news isn’t cheap. If you value the journalism LebTown provides to the community, then help us make it sustainable by becoming a champion of local news.

You can unlock additional coverage for the community by supporting our work with a one-time contribution, or joining as a monthly or annual member. You can cancel anytime.

Questions about this story? Suggestions for a future LebTown article? Reach our newsroom using the contact form below and we’ll do our best to get back to you.

Tom Knapp

Tom has been a professional journalist for nearly four decades. In his spare time, he plays fiddle with the Irish band Fire in the Glen, and he reviews music, books and movies for Rambles.NET. He lives with his wife, Michelle, and has four children: Vinnie, Molly, Annabelle and Wolf.